IMG 1353 web
Jane Driver (left) and Martyn Clapp along with Lady captain Julie Blumgart who presented the trophy

GOLF: So close in Atkins Trophy at Enmore Park

JANE Driver and club chairman Martyn Clapp secured the narrowest of victories to lift the annual Atkins Trophy at Enmore Park.
The first three pairs in the better ball competition returned with 43 points and it took a countback to put the winners ahead of Joanne Wyatt and Jonathon Stafford with Tina Morgan and Stewart Hayter in third.
On Wednesday 60 Ladies took part in the Barrington Cup donated by Mrs S Barrington in 1975 for handicappers up to 23.
The competition was won by Judith Sperring, who plays off 19, with 35 points. Second place went to Joanne Wyatt (23) with 35 while Linda Anniss (23) claimed third on countback from Beverley Broad (10) after both scored 34.
King Cup
In 1960 Mr King, the course landowner at the time, donated the King Cup for handicappers 24 and above. This year’s winner was Anne Elliott-Rose (34) with 38 points. Eileen Binding (24) was second with 34 and Debra Perry (47) was third on countback from Christine Hannam after both returned with 33.
The Nine Hole Ladies played for the Leffman Rose Bowl. Susan Hockley (14) won with 16 points, Anita Leng (21) was second with 15 and Lorna Parker (17) third with 15.
On Saturday the final club Monthly Medal was played which attracted 110 entrants and was won by Sean Jones (11) on countback from Campbell Davis (23) after both carded 68. Luke Caswell (13) was third on countback ahead of six others with 69.

Copyright © 2019 Sedgemoor Apple