Ladies Open winners 2021
The winning Ladies trio, from left: Shirley Marlow, Pat Cooke and Bev Cranley

GOLF: Ladies finally get to play new-style Open at Brean

WHEN the idea of changing the format for the Ladies Open at Brean Golf Club was mooted back in late 2019 little did the Ladies know it would take almost 18 months for it to come to fruition, writes Andrew March.

Since then the Covid outbreak has delayed things but the 15 teams that finally took to the course at Brean all enjoyed their day.

With a good number of the players being first time visitors to Brean, the positive feedback received afterwards about both the course layout and condition and the off-course facilities were very pleasing to hear. 

Those who have played Brean will know some course knowledge is a great help so it was no surprise that the top level of the leaderboard was filled by those with some previous experience.

Leading the way were Brean Members Shirley Marlow and Beverly Cranley alongside guest Pat Cooke from Maxstoke Park. They scored 76 points to win by a single point from Carole Short and Lyn Bird who were joined by Sharron McVie from Sherborne.

 The award for the leading visiting team (which couldn’t include any more than one Brean member) was claimed by Cricket St Thomas duo of Kay Fawcett and Ellie Langford who joined Eileen Parnell from the host club to total 69 points.

Brean are due to host two Somerset County Ladies events later in the Summer and with that in mind a few of the county committee formed a team and managed to finish fourth. Sue Stilwell (Weston Super Mare), Jackie McDonald (Mendip Spring) and Janet Fear (Worlebury) combined for a respectable 68 points on their first visit to Brean.

The final prize went to Stockwood vale trio of Samantha Needle, Lynda Sage and Patricia Hurst on 67.

Seniors Open

Over 80 senior golfers from a wide range of golf clubs took on the challenge of the Brean course in the annual Seniors Open. It was to be the local contingent who fared the best though and none more so than Tim Amy.

He recorded a superb card of 46 points in breezy conditions as he secured himself the Bill Martin Trophy at his first attempt. Amy, who is entering his second year as a member of the club, has shown a steady improvement over the past 12 months and this looks set to continue if this performance is anything to go by.

He won by three from another homester in Brian Read who was awarded the Veterans Trophy for his efforts. Third place went to Trevor Searle on 42 with Trevor Pitt taking fourth on 41 and with it the club chairman claimed the Nicoll Trophy for the leading 65 to 69-year-old. John Procter also scored 41 as he finished fifth on countback.

Visitors made up almost half the field but none managed to master the tricky conditions like some of the home players did with Sandwell Park member Kelvin Dando’s score of 38 taking the leading visitor award. Runner-up in that category was Long Ashton’s Stephen Knight while Wells member Christopher Strickland was third on 36.

July Medal

Tony Aimson shot a very impressive nett 60 to win the July Medal when a large number of the players managed to beat their handicaps. Aimson’s score secured him top spot in the Third Division with a comfortable four stroke cushion over Steve Mason and Steve Barker.

Mason was awarded second spot on a countback ahead of Barker. Almost matching Aimson’s winning number was Scott Miles in the top flight. Miles sadly bogeying the final hole to prevent him from matching the course par gross. With his nine handicap deducted his nett 61 saw him two better than Leighton Jenkins.

Steve Eley edged out Pete Barton for third after both had nett 64s.

Division Two produced the highest winning score but the closet finish. A countback over the homeward nine holes was required to separate Roy Fletcher and Barrie Tucker with Fletcher prevailing. Chris Fairchild was placed third on 69.

Super Series stableford

Mike Hurman was the winner of the Super Series stableford played on Sunday with a superb score of 45 points. This saw him finish three points clear of Tony Higgins and he collected the winners prize. Higgins had a one stroke advantage over Dave Mann who ended third. A countback was needed for fourth spot with Steve Jones and Chris Baker both returning 40 points. Baker had the better of the back nines to be placed fourth.

The Avalon Series scoreline sits at all square after three games of the series being played this Summer. Dan Broom’s men took the third rubber by a score of 3½ to 1½ to avenge the defeat they suffered from Pete Barton’s men last month. The final two games both fall in August so all is to play for to claim the 2021 bragging rights!

Mats Mattsson won the June Midweek Stableford with a score of 44 points. He headed home eight players who all scored 42 so a countback was required to separate them all. The best of these and the runners-up spot went to Keith Sargeant with Murray Parsons taking third.


Copyright © 2019 Sedgemoor Apple