Dave’s the man for Brean Stableford

A RETURN of 42 points from Dave Mann proved to be the best score of the day in the August Monthly Stableford at Brean.

In reasonably calm, dry and warm conditions on Saturday the 20 handicapper secured his second Stableford win of the year as he headed Stewart Garrett by two points. Garrett was a single point clear of third-placed Andrew Pound.

Marc Birt set the early pace in Division Two and eventually claimed top spot with his round of 41 points. His score was matched late in the day by Sam Grosvenor but Birt held the advantage on the back nine to take first.

Another countback was needed to decide third with Brian Read getting the nod over Tony McCann and Pete Dunn after they all scored 39.

The name Broom heading a Division One scorechart in 2021 is no rare sight but this time it was Tom who claimed the spoils. He survived a final hole disaster to return a very steady 39 points and take victory. The ever steady Leighton Jenkins was second on 38 with Dave Porter taking third one point further back.

Under the new handicap system Texas Scramble events seem to be close run affairs with the leading four teams requiring a countback to decide the winners in the Margaret Copp Chalice.

Nett scores of 49 were the popular number and the quartet of Neil Barker, Steve, Millie and Zak Jones secured the win on the countback on the homeward nine holes.

Just missing out and ending the day as runners-up were Bev and John Cranley alongside Don Edmondson and Carole Short while Simon Baunton, Dave Bidgood, Jeff Read and Eric Jones took the third place prize money.

Graham Foy, Mel Brown, Bob Masterman and Kevin Griffiths were the final 49 scoring team but unfortunately missed out on the prizes.

The August Seniors Stableford went the way of Jeff Milton courtesy of his impressive 42 point return. This gave him the top spot in the Second Division as he finished two clear of Alan Eboe, who was the only other player to reach 40 points on the day. Third place went to John Foskett with 35.

Scoring was much closer in Division One with the top seven players being separated by just two points. Surprisingly though a countback wasn’t required for the winner as Barrie Tucker topped the scorecharts with 39.

Behind him a quartet had collected on 38 with the computer deciding the finishing order. Mike Hurman was placed second with Sam Grosvenor being awarded third on the countback as Mike Allen and John Procter had to settle for fourth and fifth respectively.

Dave Morgan’s team fell to defeat in their Somerset Bowl Quarter Final match at Isle of Wedmore on Sunday. They succumbed 3-2 in a very closely fought battle to end their hope of lifting the Bowl in 2021.

Copyright © 2019 Sedgemoor Apple